Share your best experiences in Alsace with #visitalsace
Discover the beautiful ramparts of Châtenois, a historical oasis surrounded by vineyards. The walls lie in the shadow of the magnificent Saint-Georges Church and the witches tower.
The first written mention of the fortification dates from 1298. A double wall enclosure called a fortified cemetery (900m in total length) enclosed the district of the castle which included the church, the cemetery, the bailiwick house (Amthaus), wells, probably 2 fortified houses including the current presbytery as well as at least 20 individual houses.
Access to the neighborhood was through the gate tower of 1405, improbably called Witches' Tower. In 1489, the population of the castle district was estimated at about 100 people. The inner enclosure can be dated to the first half of the 13th century. The outer enclosure can be located at the end of XIV, beginning of XV.
Since 2001, the insertion team "Tremplins" works on the site to consolidate and enhance it.
It is possible to walk there all year round and the Association des remparts organises every 2nd Sunday in June "La Fête des Remparts": nearly 400 people dressed up on the site (morning parade), medieval entertainment groups, equestrian games, games, medieval market, wild boar on the spit and other restaurants...
- Pets allowed : yes
- Altitude : 190m
- Distance to the nearest station (km) : 3
- Type of visits proposed : Free visit, Guided tour for individuals with reservation, Guided tour for groups with reservation
Horaires et dates d'ouvertures susceptibles d'être modifiés en fonction des circonstances. Prenez vos précautions.
- Ouverture et service de vente proposé : Open to the public