" Built at the end of a rocky bar, this castle has the largest artillery tower with the Haut-Koenigsbourg. 16th century barbican. Semi-troglodytic type. You will reach it after a 25-minute walk. "
Castle built around 1200, restored in the 16th and 17th centuries. Remains of the 13th century dwellings and the pentagonal keep. Entrance dating from the 16th century, protected by two artillery bastions and giving access to the bailey. Visitors can also see the 16th century west tower. The Schoeneck castle has been listed as a historic monument since December 28, 1984. The association Cun Ulmer Grün, whose goal is the safeguarding, securing and consolidation of the castle, has been undertaking and carrying out numerous works of various kinds for over ten years. It works in collaboration with the curator of the Maison de l'Archéologie in Niederbronn-les-Bains, where the objects discovered during the excavations are exhibited. Guided tours are offered in season, information at the Tourist Office Access : from the parking lot along the D 53 between Obersteinbach and Wineckerthal, take the path marked with a green triangle that goes directly up to the castle. It takes about 20 minutes to walk.
- Pets allowed : yes
- Altitude : 380m
- Distance to the nearest station (km) : 9
- Type of visits proposed : Free visit, Guided tour for groups, Guided tour for groups with reservation
- Equipment required : Walking shoes
- Languages spoken : French, German, English
- Group headcount :
- Maxi : 30
Horaires et dates d'ouvertures susceptibles d'être modifiés en fonction des circonstances. Prenez vos précautions.
- Ouverture et service de vente proposé : Open to the public
- Mesure de protections : The service provider declares to respect the sanitary protocols