Visit

Parc des ruines du Château

©SHKT

Around 1802, the future Baron of the Empire, Mathieu de Faviers, bought an old feudal castle situated on a foothill of the Vosges, below which he had a manor house built. On the slope between the Directoire residence and the "gothic" fortress, Faviers had a "table garden" laid out in accordance with the models in vogue since the end of the 18th century.

The future lawns had to be designed, the banks of the stream had to be planted, the forest had to be cut into to provide the necessary access and views... The pink sandstone ruin guides the view, beyond the romantic path of the wooded park, and this monumental "factory" is nowadays animated by the "Volerie des aigles".

Opposite the entrance is the car park for cars and coaches. 

  • Pets allowed : yes
Additional information
  • Altitude : 220m
  • Distance to the nearest station (km) : 4,7
  • Reservation required : Yes

Horaires et dates d'ouvertures susceptibles d'être modifiés en fonction des circonstances. Prenez vos précautions.

Share

Share your best experiences in Alsace with #visitalsace

Calculate your itinerary
Contact us by e-mail

By clicking on “Send”, you agree that Agence Régionale du Tourisme Grand Est (ART GE) may use your first name – surname - e-mail address - telephone number to process your request. To find out more about the processing of your personal data, please refer to our privacy policy.

Your message has been successfully sent!

Next

A visiter

Parc des ruines du Château

©SHKT

Vers 1802, le futur baron d'Empire Mathieu de Faviers acheta un ancien château féodal situé sur un contrefort des Vosges, en contrebas duquel il fit construire un manoir. Sur la pente qui sépare la demeure Directoire et la forteresse "gothique", Faviers fit aménager un "jardin-tableau" conforme aux modèles en vogue depuis la fin du XVIIIe siècle.

Il fallut dessiner les futures pelouses, planter les bords du ruisseau, entailler la forêt pour ménager les accès et les vues nécessaires... La ruine de grès rose oriente les perspectives, par-delà le parcours romantique du parc arboré, et cette "fabrique" monumentale s'anime de nos jours de la "Volerie des aigles".

En face de l'entrée se trouve le parking pour voitures et cars. 

  • Animaux acceptés : oui
Informations complémentaires
  • Altitude : 220m
  • Distance de la gare la plus proche (en km) : 4,7
  • Réservation obligatoire : oui

Horaires et dates d'ouvertures susceptibles d'être modifiés en fonction des circonstances. Prenez vos précautions.

Partager

Partagez vos plus belles expériences en Alsace avec #visitalsace

Calculer votre itinéraire
Nous contacter par e-mail

En cliquant sur « Envoyer », vous acceptez que l’Agence régionale du Tourisme Grand Est (ART GE) utilise vos prénom – nom - adresse e-mail - téléphone dans le but d’instruire votre demande. Pour en savoir plus sur le traitement de vos données à caractère personnel, consultez notre politique de confidentialité.

Votre message à bien été envoyé !

Suivant