Scherwiller

Located on the Alsace Wine Route, about 6 km from Sélestat, Scherwiller, the capital of Riesling, stands proudly in the heart of the Piedmont.
Famous for its wines, especially Riesling, Scherwiller has 370 hectares of vineyards, which places the village in the top three of the most important communes in the Bas-Rhin department in terms of wine-growing area.
Come and meet the winegrowers who are passionate about their work and who will share their know-how with you and offer you a tasting of their best wines.

The village is crossed by the Aubach, a river with a hundred or so wash houses. The site has been classified since December 4, 1969 and is worth a visit for a dive into history. Stroll along its banks, cross the small stone bridges and stop to discover the remains of the old wash houses where the washerwomen came to wash their clothes. In summer, these laundries come back to life in the theater show of the Rue des Lavandières where scenes of the rural life of the village are played in French and Alsatian.

Along the Aubach, admire the typical half-timbered houses, dating from the 16th, 17th, 18th and 19th centuries. Beautifully colored, they are generally half-timbered on the upper floors and made of cut stone on the first floor. A mixture of tradition and modernity that will surprise you.
Don't hesitate to take a break in the medieval communal garden where you will be immersed in the explanations and poems related to courtly love.
Want to continue your visit? We advise you to visit Les Mystères du Vignoble Scherwiller. You can admire the old wooden screw press and a tip, look up to see the roofs of some houses.

On the heights of the village, come and walk on the rocky spur where the Ortenbourg castle is located, built in the 13th century. The view on the commune, the plain of Alsace, the Swiss Alps and the spire of the Cathedral of Strasbourg is impressive.

Additional information
  • Altitude : 187m
  • Restaurant on site : Drinks, Restaurant, Food for groups, Catering for groups, Small-scale catering

Contact us by e-mail

Your message has been successfully sent!

Next
Vous partez déjà ?

© Tristan Vuano
©SHKT
©SHKT
©SHKT
© Tristan Vuano
©SHKT
© Tristan Vuano
© Coralie KAUPP
©SHKT
A visiter

Scherwiller

A quelques kilomètres de Sélestat et de la célèbre Route des Vins, Scherwiller se dresse fièrement au cœur du Piémont.
Réputé pour ses vins, notamment le Riesling, Scherwiller possède 370 hectares de vignoble, ce qui place le village dans le trio de tête des communes les plus importantes du département du Bas-Rhin en matière de superficie viticole.
Venez rencontrer les viticulteurs passionnés par leur métier qui vous transmettront leurs savoir-faire et vous offriront une dégustation de leur meilleur cru…

Le village est traversé par l’Aubach, rivière jalonnée d’une centaine de lavoirs. Le site classé depuis le 4 décembre 1969 mérite de s’y rendre pour un plongeon dans l’histoire. Flânez sur ses quais, traversez les petits ponts de pierres et arrêtez-vous pour découvrir les vestiges des anciens lavoirs où les lavandières venaient laver leur linge. L’été, ces lavoirs reprennent vie dans le spectacle de théâtre de la rue des Lavandières où est joué des scènes de la vie rurale du village, en français et en alsacien.

Le long de l’Aubach, admirez les maisons typiques à colombages, datées des XVIe, XVIIe, XVIII et XIXe siècles. Joliment colorées, elles sont généralement à pans de bois pour les étages et en pierre de taille au rez-de-chaussée. Un mélange de tradition et de modernité qui saura vous étonner.

Sur les hauteurs de la commune, venez-vous balader sur l’éperon rocheux où se trouve le château de l’Ortenbourg, construit au 13 e siècle. La vue sur la commune, la plaine d’Alsace, sur les Alpes Suisses et sur la flèche de la Cathédrale de Strasbourg y est impressionnante…

Ne manquez pas le Sentier Gourmand de Scherwiller qui vous fera découvrir le vignoble de manière gourmande !

Informations complémentaires
  • Altitude : 187m

Horaires et dates d'ouvertures susceptibles d'être modifiés en fonction des circonstances. Prenez vos précautions.

Partager

Partagez vos plus belles expériences en Alsace avec #visitalsace

Calculer votre itinéraire
infos & réservations

Votre message à bien été envoyé !

Suivant