Jean-Yves Stollmeyer
Visit

Soultzmatt

Located on the wine route at the foothills of the Vosges mountains between the vineyard and the wooded hillsides, the commune of Soultzmatt-Wintzfelden benefits from the renown of its water and its wine. Guardian of the Valley Noble, thus called due to the many noble families that occupied this area in the XVth century, it houses vestiges of this era.
Soultzmatt is particularly famous for its spring waters. The Lisbeth bottling facility opens its doors to visitors interested in learning about its processes. The village takes its name from the presence of a spring with an acid and salty taste (Sulz: salt, Matte: meadow).
Also known for its Zinnkoepflé 'grand cru (vintage)', cultivated by almost twenty wine-growing families, Soultzmatt is an important stopover on the Alsatian wine route. The presence of the vine goes back to the XIXth century and the quality wines for ageing (gewurztraminer, riesling, pinot gris) regularly rewarded at competitions alongside the best wines in the world, are produced here.
The village also has the advantage of a warm and dry microclimate, conducive to the development of flora and fauna known to southern climes. The dry grasses at the summit of the Zinnkoepflé are listed Natura 2000 and are the delight of botanists who find rare and vulnerable species here. A 'green holiday centre' awarded with a 4th flower within the framework of the national competition of Villes et Villages Fleuris (Towns and Villages in bloom), Soultzmatt-Wintzfelden has actively promoted health tourism through the creation of numerous walking tours.
It has many highly esteemed citizens including the Namibian Ambassador Panduleni Shingenge, the filmmaker Francis Perrin, the actress Sophie Marceau, the comedian Dinah Faust, the singer Julie Pietri, the director André Zulawski, the two-time winner of the Tour de France Bernard Thévenet, Count Carlos Coll, a cousin of the King of Spain, Geneviève de Fontenay, president of the Miss Nationale committee, and the Alsacians Miss France : Laetitia Bleger, Miss France 2004 and Delphine Wespiser, miss France 2012
Halfway between Colmar (24km) and Mulhouse (29km), the commune of Soultzmatt-Wintzfelden welcomes you on an exploration of nature, gastronomy and an authentic heritage.

Additional information
  • Altitude : 280m
  • Restaurant on site : Yes
See also
Cimetière roumain de Soultzmatt

Rumanian cemetery

Soultzmatt

Langenstein

Soultzmatt
Espace des sources à Soultzmatt © Grégory Tachet

Water museum

Soultzmatt
Suitable for everyone

Wineyard's path from Soultzmatt

Soultzmatt

Grossfels

Soultzmatt
Share

Share your best experiences in Alsace with #visitalsace

Calculate your itinerary
infos & réservations

Your message has been successfully sent!

Next

Jean-Yves Stollmeyer
A visiter

Soultzmatt

Située sur la route des vins au pied des Vosges entre vignoble et coteaux boisés, la commune de Soultzmatt-Wintzfelden bénéficie de la notoriété de ses eaux et de ses vins. Gardienne de la Vallée Noble, nommée ainsi en raison des nombreuses familles nobles ayant occupé le territoire au XVème siècle, elle abrite les vestiges de cette époque prospère.
Soultzmatt est notamment célèbre pour ses sources, et l’unité d’embouteillage Lisbeth ouvre ses portes aux visiteurs curieux de découvrir ses procédés. Le village tire d’ailleurs son nom de la présence d’une source au goût acide et salé (Sulz : sel, Matte : pré).
Egalement renommée pour son grand cru Zinnkoepflé, cultivé par près de vingt familles de viticulteurs, Soultzmatt est une étape incontournable de la route des vins d’Alsace.
La vigne y est attestée depuis le XIXème siècle et de très grands vins de garde (gewurztraminer, riesling, pinot gris), régulièrement primés au concours des meilleurs vins du monde, y sont produits.
Le village bénéficie en outre d'un microclimat chaud et aride, propice au développement d'une faune et d'une flore de type méridional. Les pelouses sèches du sommet du Zinnkoepflé sont classées Natura 2000 et font le bonheur des botanistes qui peuvent y trouver des espèces rares et sensibles. Station Verte de Vacances et récompensée par une 4e fleur dans le cadre du concours national des Villes et Villages Fleuris, Soultzmatt-Wintzfelden se positionne résolument en faveur du développement du tourisme de santé par la création de plusieurs circuits pédestres.
Elle compte d'illustres citoyens d'honneur, dont l’ambassadrice de Namibie Panduleni Shingenge, le réalisateur Francis Perrin, l'actrice Sophie Marceau, la comédienne Dinah Faust, la chanteuse Julie Pietri, le metteur en scène André Zulawski, le double vainqueur du Tour de France Bernard Thévenet, le comte Carlos Coll, cousin du roi d'Espagne, Geneviève de Fontenay, présidente du comité Miss Nationale et deux miss France alsacienne : Laetitia Bleger, Miss France 2004 et Delphine Wespiser, Miss France 2012.
A mi chemin entre Colmar (24km) et Mulhouse (29km), la commune de Soultzmatt-Wintzfelden invite à la découverte de la nature, de la gastronomie et d’un patrimoine authentique.
Découvrez l'application mobile "l'Eau et le vin à Soultzmatt" et le Cabaret Music-Hall "Le Paradis des Sources" dans un sujet diffusé sur Virgin Radio le 6 septembre 2013 : Ecouter l'émission
Pour télécharger l'application mobile rendez-vous sur l'AppStore ou le PlayStore de votre smartphone ou de votre tablette puis recherchez "Sur la piste des trésors d'Alsace" et téléchargez l'application.

Informations complémentaires
  • Altitude : 280m
  • Restauration sur place : Restaurant
Voir aussi
Partager

Partagez vos plus belles expériences en Alsace avec #visitalsace

Calculer votre itinéraire
infos & réservations

Votre message à bien été envoyé !

Suivant