Yves Langlois
Event

Exposition La table tout un art

The magic of Lalique's work will blow you away with this unique exhibition on the art of the table. A varied presentation that combines renewal and prestige with pieces that have already dazzled many celebrities.

Generally associated with a certain French art de vivre, table art has long attracted the creative talents of prestigious design houses. Both a talented artist and a skilled industrialist, René Lalique brought novel techniques and originality to les arts de la table.

The spirit of Lalique tableware was greatly admired for its pure, delicate lines and great elegance. Lysiane Sarah-Bernhardt, the granddaughter of the famous French actress, was full of praise: "If I was planning a totally memorable gastronomic dinner for a group of friends, I would like Lalique to take care of the table decorationLight from his most beautiful candelabra would reflect on his finest and most charming piecesWhat could be more amiable than the sound of the finest crystal echoing like a youthful voice across the table?"

Dishes, trays, plates, candelabra, menu holders, knife rests and fine glassware - the diversity of his creations is impressive. Combining functionality and aesthetics, his creations were also inspired by the "desire to provide people with beautiful objects for use in daily life that were both beautifully made and affordable". Lalique tableware had pride of place on wedding lists, shipping companies commissioned dinner services, wine producers and dealers also called upon his services. Lalique's reputation earned him numerous orders from famous personalities, both French and international. Today, Maison Lalique tableware includes wine services, bottles and decanters for spirits and imposing pieces for prestigious restaurants. 

La table, tout un art will focus on Lalique's fabulous creativity through the philosophy that guided production, examples of his most prestigious tableware, and the evolution of wine services and the changing habits in the world of wine drinking.

Additional information
  • Amenities services : Toilets
  • Languages spoken : French, German, English
  • Restaurant on site : Food for individuals
  • Practical services : Group reception, Shops /Sale of goods, Left luggage, Local tourist information

Horaires et dates d'ouvertures susceptibles d'être modifiés en fonction des circonstances. Prenez vos précautions.

  • Mesure de protections : The service provider declares to respect the sanitary protocols, Wearing a mask is mandatory, Hydroalcoholic gel available, Reservation required, Contactless payment highly recommended

Related events

Yves Langlois
Other dates
Share

Share your best experiences in Alsace with #visitalsace

Calculate your itinerary
infos & réservations

Your message has been successfully sent!

Next

Yves Langlois
Evénement

Exposition La table tout un art

Associés à un certain art de vivre à la française, les arts de la table ont tout au long de l’histoire, suscité la créativité et de prestigieuses Maisons s’y sont illustrées. Artiste de talent et industriel avisé, René Lalique s’y intéressera également, apportant originalité et renouveau.

Pureté, délicatesse et élégance sont les maîtres mots qui gouvernent sa créativité et suscitent une admiration quasi unanime, que Lysiane Sarah-Bernhardt, petite-fille de la grande comédienne, résume ainsi : si je devais donner à mes amis un dîner mémorable, je voudrais que Lalique se charge de décorer ma table. Il disposerait pour cette fête gastronomique ses plus belles pièces et ses plus beaux chandeliers, dont la lumière se refléterait dans les charmants objets de la table. Quoi de plus amical que d’entendre tintinnabuler le beau cristal comme l’écho d’une jeune voix qui se répand d’un bout à l’autre de la table ?

Plats, plateaux, coupes, assiettes, chandeliers, porte-menus, repose-couteaux et gobeleterie fine… la diversité de ses créations impressionne. A la fois fonctionnels et esthétiques ses productions sont également guidées par sa volonté de mettre à disposition du public des objets d’usage quotidien aussi beaux de forme que d’exécution à des prix moyens. Ainsi, ses articles pour la table figurent en bonne place parmi les cadeaux de mariage. Des compagnies maritimes lui demandent de créer des services. Des vignerons et des négociants en vin le sollicitent...  Pourtant, sa réputation lui vaut aussi de nombreuses commandes de personnalités tant françaises qu’étrangères. Aujourd’hui, la Maison Lalique renoue avec les Arts de la Table, en particulier à travers le service du vin, le conditionnement des spiritueux et de prestigieux restaurants. 

L’exposition La table, tout un art mettra en valeur la créativité foisonnante de Lalique à travers la philosophie qui a guidé la production, les tables de prestige, mais également l’évolution des usages et du service du vin.

Informations complémentaires
  • Commodités/services annexes : Toilettes
  • Langues pratiquées : Français, Allemand, Anglais
  • Restauration sur place : Restauration pour individuels
  • Services pratiques : Accueil / ouvert aux groupes, Boutiques / Vente de produits, Consigne bagages - Bagagerie, Info. Touristique

Évènements en relation

D.Desaleux
1

Nuit des musées

Wingen sur Moder
David Desaleux
2Autres dates
Musée Lalique
1

Vive les vacances

Wingen sur Moder
Musée Lalique
1
Yves Langlois
2Autres dates
Partager

Partagez vos plus belles expériences en Alsace avec #visitalsace

Calculer votre itinéraire
infos & réservations

Votre message à bien été envoyé !

Suivant